School uniform

Before moving into our new building a competition was held to design a new school logo. The new logo shows the castle in Hay and an open book as the town is famous for its many bookshops.

 

We encourage all children to wear school uniform

 

Please ensure that all items of clothing are clearly labelled with your child’s name.

 

Boys and Girls:
Blue sweatshirt with school badge
Blue short sleeved polo shirt with school badge or white short sleeved polo shirt
Black or grey trousers, skirt or pinafore dress
Summer:
As above with the addition of blue checked or striped dresses
P.E:
White cotton T-shirt and black shorts to be kept in a bag on your child’s peg

 

All school uniform can purchased from Myclothing.com

School Dinners

School meals are provided by Powys Catering and are cooked on the premises by our school cook. The three-week menu offers hot meals with sandwiches or jacket potatoes as alternatives. Special diets can be catered for by arrangement.

More information on the school meal service can be found at Powys School Meals. For an up to date menu click here.

The cost of a school meal is £2.30. All payments are taken via parent pay – please click here for further information.

 

Some children may be eligible for free school meals. Details of eligibility are available from the Area Education Officer. Please click here for further information or alternatively, please speak to the school cook.

All children are asked to bring a drinks bottle to school. These can be filled up using the school’s water fountains.Children may bring in a packed lunch to eat in the dining hall if they prefer.

Term Dates 2019-2020

2019/2020

Term Term starts Half-term Dates Term ends
Autumn Term 2019 Tuesday 3rd September 2019 – Friday 25th October 2019 Monday 28th October 2019 – Friday 1st November 2019 Tuesday 5th November 2019 – Friday 20th December 2019
Spring Term 2020 Tuesday 7th January 2020 – Friday 14th February 2020 Monday 17th February 2020 – Friday 21st February 2020 Monday 24th February 2020 – Friday 3rd April 2020
Summer Term 2020 Tuesday 21st April 2020 – Friday 22nd May 2020 Monday 25th May 2020 – Friday 29th May 2020 Monday 1st June 2020 – Friday 17th July 2020

Non-Pupil Days 19/20

  • Monday 2nd September 2019
  • Monday 4th November 2019
  • Monday 6th January 2020
  • Monday 20th April 2020 (Directed Teacher Day)
  • Monday 20th July 2020

Useful Dates 19/20

  • Good Friday: Friday 10th April 2020
  • Easter Monday: Monday 13th April 2020
  • May Day Bank Holiday: Friday 8th May 2020
  • Spring Bank Holiday: Monday 25th May 20120
  • Royal Welsh Show: Monday 20th July 2020 – Thursday 23rd July 2020

2020/2021

2020/2021

Term Term starts Half-term Dates Term ends
Autumn Term 2020 Wednesday 2nd September 2020 – Friday 23rd October 2020 Monday 26th October 2020 – Friday 30th October 2020 Monday 2nd November 2020- Friday 18th December 2020
Spring Term 2021 Tuesday 5th January 2021 – Friday 12th February 2021 Monday 15th February 2021 – Friday 19th February 2021 Monday 22nd February 2021- Friday 26th March 2021
Summer Term 2021 Tuesday 13th April 2021 – Friday 28th May 2021 Monday 31st May 2021 – Friday 4th June 2021 Monday 7th June 2021 – Friday 16th July 2021

Non-Pupil Days 20/21

  • Tuesday 1st September 2020
  • Monday 21st December 2020
  • Tuesday 22nd December 2020
  • Monday 4th January 2021
  • Monday 12th April 2021

Useful Dates 20/21

  • Good Friday: Friday 2nd April 2021
  • Easter Monday: Monday 5th April 2021
  • May Day Bank Holiday: Monday 3rd May 2021
  • Spring Bank Holiday: Monday 31st May 2021
  • Royal Welsh Show: Monday 19th July 2021 – Thursday 22nd July 2021

Please click on the links below for term dates from Powys’ website –

2019/2020 Term Dates

2020/2020 Term Dates

A Day at Hay School

Timetable

7.50 a.m – Breakfast Club
8.45 a.m – Doors Open
8.55 a.m – Registration
9.00 a.m – Session 1
10.10 a.m – Foundation Phase morning break
10.30 a.m – KS2 morning break
10.45 a.m – Session 2
11.45 a.m – Lunch Foundation Phase
12.15 p.m – Lunch KS2
1.00 p.m – Session 3
2.00 p.m – Whole school assembly
2.15 p.m – Session 4 for KS2 / Foundation Phase afternoon break
2.25 p.m – Session 4 for Foundation Phase
3.15 p.m – School ends

3:15 – 5.30 p.m – Jumping Jacks After School Club